Rick Boyd Astrologer
home about me astrology services astrology basics background contact me


Astrology basics

a horoscope

The horoscope

Your horoscope is the map of the planets, signs and houses when you were born. To a karmic astrologer such as myself, this is your birth contract setting out the skill set you chose to bring into this life to achieve your karmic purpose. It tells you in which signs each of your planets is, and at what degree.

Your horoscope looks something like the one to the right. The signs are represented by glyphs or symbols in the outer orange band, and the houses by numbers in the inner light orange band, and the lines dividing the outer circle. The planets are shown as glyphs in the outer circle, with their degrees and signs. The lines in the inner circle are the aspects, the specific angles between planets. An astrologer will bring all these complex parts together in an insightful overview of the skills you brought into this life to attempt your karmic task.

The zodiac and the signs

The 12 signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Everyone is familiar with their star sign which is actually where the Sun fell on the day of their birth.

The planets

Those ancient astronomers/astrologers counted seven heavenly bodies, the luminaries (Sun and Moon) and five planets – although you will hear astrologers referring to all seven as planets, just because it's easier. They are the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. The discovery of additional planets in later ages has led modern astrologers to assign them roles in astrology practice, again through study and observation. They are Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Some astrologers, such as myself, include the even more recent minor planet Chiron. Others include a range of major asteroids also orbiting the Sun. Each of these planets represents individual energies, or parts of human character.
Sun - the inner self, the masculine principle
Moon - emotions, the feminine principle
Mercury - reasoning and expression
Venus - relationships, harmony
Mars - energy, desire
Jupiter - expansion, relaxation
Saturn - restriction, discipline
Uranus - change, freedom
Neptune - intuition, mystery
Pluto - transformation, power
Chiron - healing, evolution.


The chart is divided into signs, but also into houses The planets are placed into signs according to what time of year you were born, but houses divide the horoscope into twelve parts depending of what hour of the day you were born. The houses, numbered 1 to 12, start with the sign on the horizon when you were born, called the Ascendant or Rising Sign. This is how the outside world first sees you. Each of the houses represents an area of life where your planetary energies are expressed.


Finally, astrologers look for precise or close angles formed between the planets, which further modify how their energy is expressed. The main angles are conjunction (two planets very close together), sextile (around 60 degrees apart), square (around 90 degrees), trine (around 120 degrees) and oopposition (around 180 degrees).

Order your chart now

I work online and will send you by email a PDF of your chart and full written interpretations. Each chart is prepared by me personally. Email me with your request, or to discuss my services and fees, at rick@zealcreation.com.au

home - about me - astrology services - astrology basics - astrology background - contact me
All contents © Rick Boyd - Karmic Astrologer 2020